How to Throw a Pity Party (& Why We Want To)

Crystal Jackson
3 min readJan 23, 2018
Photo by Marion Michele on Unsplash

The other day I threw myself a big fat pity party. For those not yet acquainted with this expression, a pity party is a time when we sit around and feel sorry for ourselves. We wallow in it a bit. I was feeling particularly sorry for myself because I’ve loved people who couldn’t or wouldn’t stay in my life, and sometimes that’s hard. I also felt betrayed by people I’d trusted. I sat around and stewed in the anger and hurt feelings and just felt sorry that I was struggling both emotionally and financially as a result of some of these events. I sat in my pajamas and cried into my glass of wine and just let myself feel all the feelings.

Now I do believe in the power of what we call in the South a good cry. I’m a fan. I’ve always said that if I don’t have time to cry in a day, I’ll schedule it in later. It’s healthy — and not just for women. Keeping our feelings in is one of the most destructive things that we can do to our own health, not to mention our relationships. The occasional pity party can be very beneficial, as long as we don’t make it a party that lasts every day.

But I started thinking about the pity party and how I could have made it better. If you’re scratching your head at the idea, I don’t blame you. My thought train jumps on some weird tracks sometimes, but I just go with it so you might as well come along for the ride. Prepare…

--

--